All the Songs: The Story Behind Every Beatles Release

Sale price $56.00 Regular price $70.00

Only 3 left in stock, order soon!

All the Songs: The Story Behind Every Beatles Release (9/22/13) 

Hardcover – October 22, 2013

Presents the stories behind the writing and recording of all 213 songs released by The Beatles, in a work arranged chronologically and illustrated with hundreds of photographs.

Every album and every song ever released by the Beatles - from "Please Please Me" (U.S. 1963) to "The Long and Winding Road" (U.S. 1970) - is dissected, discussed, and analyzed by two music historians in this lively, fully illustrated work.

All the Songs delves deep into the history and origins of the Beatles and their music. This first-of-its-kind book draws upon decades of research, as music historians Margotin and Guesdon recount the circumstances that led to the composition of every song, the recording process, and the instruments used.
Here, we learn that one of John Lennon's favorite guitars was a 1958 Rickenbacker 325 Capri, which he bought for £100 in 1960 in Hamburg, Germany. We also learn that "Love Me Do," recorded in Abbey Road Studios in September 1962, took 18 takes to get right, even though it was one of the first songs John and Paul ever wrote together. And the authors reveal that when the Beatles performed "I Want to Hold Your Hand" on The Ed Sullivan Show in 1964, John's microphone wasn't turned on, so viewers heard only Paul singing.
The hundreds of photographs throughout the book include rare black-and-white publicity stills, images of Beatles instruments, and engaging shots of the musicians in-studio.
All the Songs is the must-have book for the any true Beatles fan. 

Product details

  • Hardcover: 672 pages
  • Publisher: Black Dog & Leventhal; 1st edition (October 22, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-13: 978-1579129521
  • Product Dimensions: 8.8 x 2.2 x 11 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.8 pounds

You might also like